Carla Thomas – Carla

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

I really enjoyed this album. It's not often I listen to old school R&B, but I enjoy it every time. You'd think I'd learn something from that. B-A-B-Y (track #1) is the song from Baby Driver that inspired me to listen to this one, and it's a great start to a record. Some of the better songs on the soundtrack were only released as singles. Harlem Shuffle was one, but I found the Stones cover. I failed to mention yesterday that track #4 on the soundtrack is Smokey Joe's La La by Googie Rene, which is another. I would have really liked to hear more of his stuff, but I couldn't find any evidence that he ever released a full album at all, let alone w/Smokey Joe's La La on it. All that to say I was kind of expecting that to be the case for this one, too. It turns out Carla Thomas put out 6 studio albums. Now that I'm thinking about it, I remember that they actually show the album in the movie, so I don't know why I was assuming that. Oh, and those 6 albums don't include a collaboration with Otis Redding! After enjoying Carla so much, I may have to add that album to my list, and check it out once this soundtrack expedition is complete. Although I'm only on track #6 of 30, so it'll be a while.

I don't think I disliked anything on this album. I've been listening to it on repeat for hours. If I had to guess, I've probably listened to it a half dozen times today. The sadder songs are still pretty good, but I find myself enjoying them less. That's much less about the quality of the songs than the mood of them, which don't match my current one. That said, there aren't really any standouts for me; even B-A-B-Y. You Don't Have to Say You Love Me caught my attention, but I'm pretty sure it's because I'm familiar with a different version. Dusty Springfield has the canonical English version (she was covering an Italian song), which is probably what I've been thinking of. I haven't listened to it yet, though, because I've been enjoying Carla too much.

Leave a comment